top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAarti Lodhia

Should A level students get tutoring from ex-students?

Updated: Jul 6, 2020

There are many students who are tutoring A level and GCSE students for free and these ‘tutors’ are currently studying at university or are doing their A levels themselves...

Why is this a good thing?

  • Students can pass on their knowledge to other

  • Students' knowledge becomes enhanced

  • Students are able to explain concepts (especially something like biology) in different ways to how a teacher would explain the same concept, so their peers may understand it better.

  • It's free!!!

Why is this a bad thing?

  • BECAUSE.... Students who have left and gone to university may not be aware of any changes in the syllabus - and I'm telling you - there are always changes!!

  • Students are able to teach content to other students, BUT, they cannot teach exam technique!!! I'll tell you why..... because each exam boards differ in both technique and content!!

  • You get - what you don't pay for!

Don't get me wrong - I'm all for peer mentoring and teaching.


I actually even get my students to mentor each other. But, as a professional, I make sure I put the correct mentor with the correct mentees based on grades, aspirations and also personalities.


Just because a person is good at a subject, that does not mean that they are able to teach it. Moreover, I coach the mentor as to how they should be working with their mentees and how to help their group.

NEVERTHELESS, this is no substitute for a teacher. I don't stop teaching just because my students are helping others. What my students are doing, is enhancing their own learning and of those they are assisting, but they are still learning from me, the expert.


What is an expert?



An expert is defined as, 'a person who is very knowledgeable about or skilful in a particular area'.

So why is it better to get tutoring from an expert?

Think about this... most of us know how to drive a car. Most of us are proficient drivers, its something we're all pretty good at and something we do regularly. If this is the case, why do you pay for a driving instructor? It's simply because a driving instructor is an expert at teaching someone how to drive.


Yes, it's possible that family members may practice with the person who is learning but an expert is still needed for he student to learn the rules, what to expect in the driving test and how to pass the test correctly and safely.

First and foremost, a teacher or tutor is a professional. We have been trained exactly how to teach our subjects to our students. More than this, our experience has led us to understand exactly how students learn, to individualise our teaching.

Teachers and tutors reflect on each lesson and think about how they can make it better - now imagine doing this for over ten years, how much their teaching would have changed with experience

All students are different, just like people are different and teachers/tutors have the flexibility to be able to adapt their tutoring when needed.



In order to do this, we have to know our subjects inside out as well as know the exams!

Just as in all professions, we attend CPD's to make sure our training is up-to-date at all times. Some of us become examiners to further our training and be able to pass on our expertise to our students.

I'd just like to finish with a final thought - most of us have spent years teaching/tutoring and becoming a great teacher/tutor. Why? Because we want what is best for our students and we will carry on doing the best for our students.

My subject and passion is A level Biology and I absolutely love teaching it - it's definitely my calling. If you want to know more, have a look at my website below and get in touch.

If you found this blog useful, please do share, comment and let me know how I can better serve you.


Aarti










91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page